Friday, July 18, 2014

Backbone Bonanza

Playing the game Camoflauge

Today we learned about vertebrates and some characteristics that distinguish them. All animals with a backbone are called vertebrates. Vertebrates are classified into five groups: fish, amphibians, reptiles, birds and mammals. 

Each vertebrate class can be distinguished by some easily recognized characteristics (though there are some exceptions to almost all of these).

Fish live in the water and breathe with gills. They use fins to move in the water and most are protected by a covering of scales. Most fish lay jelly-like eggs.

Amphibians lay jelly-like eggs in water, which hatch into tadpoles that usually breathe with gills. Amphibians have most skin, four legs and no claws. Salamanders, frogs and toads are common amphibians.

Reptiles have dry, scaly skin. All, except snakes have four legs with claws. They lay leathery eggs on land. Common reptiles include turtles, alligators, lizards and snakes.

Birds are easily distinguished by their feathers. They have two legs and two wings. Bird eggs have hard shells, and most care for their young until they can fly.

Mammals' bodies are at least partially covered with hair or fur. They give live birth and supply milk to their young.

Watch out for deer tics! This one was on the back of Olive's neck. Look at how tiny it is!!!

Today we finished painting our pots. Once they dry, we'll plant lettuce or flowers for children to observe. 

Today's snack was called Bones and Salsa. We trimmed tortillas into bone shapes and spread sour cream and salsa on top! 

No comments:

Post a Comment